810 Aiken Avenue
Perryville, MD  21903
Holy Orders

Holy Orders


John 20:19-23 "Now when it was late that same day, the first of the week, and the doors were shut, where the disciples were gathered together. Jesus came and stood in the midst, and said to them: Peace be to you. And when he had said this, he showed them his hands and his side. The disciples, therefore, were glad, when they saw the Lord. He said to them again: Peace be to you. As the Father hath sent me, I also send you. When he had said this, he breathed on them; and he said to them: Receive ye the Holy Spirit. Whose sins you shall forgive, they are forgiven them; and whose sins you shall retain, they are retained."

Holy Orders is the sacrament by which, through the authority of the Church, the imposition of a Bishop's hands confers on a man the grace and spiritual power to celebrate the Church's sacraments.

There are three forms of this sacrament: diaconate (Deacon), presbyterate (Priest) and episcopate (Bishop). Every man in Holy Orders is a Deacon, Priest or Bishop. A Monsignor, for instance, is a priest who has special recognition as a member of the papal household. A Bishop is in charge of a diocese.  The Pope is the Bishop of Rome.

For more information on becoming a deacon, please contact Deacon Luke Yackley at the Parish Office.  Applicants must be at least 31 years old and not yet 60.

For more information please visit thest helpful links:

Diocese of Wilmington Vocation Information

Institute for Priestly Formation